Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

We have reached a stage in our society in which professional satisfaction is of great importance. Recently, we have witnessed a trend in which more and more people move away from companies and organizations to be self-employed. This essay will analyse why self-employment became so popular and what are its possible disadvantages. The biggest and most important benefit of self-employment is the control that comes with it. All of the decisions are taken by you. For instance, it is up to you to decide what to work, when or how, as you do not need to respect any schedule. You will not have to follow the instructions given by a manager. You are free to do your work as you find fit. However, you are responsible for everything that happens. In this case, whenever something goes wrong, you have to fix it. This responsibility may become overwhelming and can lead to more serious problems, such as anxiety, high levels of stress and even depression. Every person who desires to be self-employed must be prepared to take responsibility for its actions and face any problems that come up. Moreover, not having colleagues may lead to social problems. It is well known that people need to socialize to maintain their sanity. Keeping in mind that the usual work-rate is about 8 hours per day, the lack of socializing during work represents a serious problem. In this case, working in a company may be better for your social life. Nowadays, people desire to have control over their lives and self-employment is one of the best ways through which they can achieve that. Even though working on your own means more potential risks and responsibilities, in the end, the possibility to have control over your life overruns all of the disadvantages.