Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantage.

It is a common phenomenon for people to be self-employed, a breakthrough towards the traditional way of work. In this essay, I will examine the possible causes and disadvantages. First of all, there are two major causes of people choosing to be a freelance, with one being the pursuit of work-life balance. Being self-employed allows you to work according to your own schedule, instead of following certain commands of your boss. For instance, becoming a YouTuber in Hong Kong is prevalent. One Youtuber, Jason claimed that this does not only allow him to spend more time with this family, but at the same time gives him great satisfaction from doing the things he truly enjoys. Thus, working on your own allows more freedom. Another possible reason is the advancement in technology. With the increasing popularity of online shopping, it is possible for people to start a business online without investing a great sum of capital beforehand. This attracts people who are afraid of taking risks to try. However, the drawbacks of being self-employed could be an unstable income. As there is no basic salary, the money received depends on certain parameters. Taking online business as a case in point, the emergence of new shops will draw customers away. If you are the breadwinner of your family, this may not be the job to be considered. Also, the productivity of workers may decrease as they are not monitored. They may not be as motivated as before to work and may procrastinate, further leading to a decrease in income. In conclusion, there are both benefits and disadvantages of being a freelance. To make a decision, one must consider his own conditions such as family, for a stable future and also a fruitful life.