Nowadays many people choose ready made food and refuse to cook at home. Why do you think it happens? What are the advantage and disadvantage of such a choice?

At present where foods are readily made available, many people would rather opt for instant goods than preparing it themselves for certain reasons. Along with either choice are also a number advantages and disadvantages. To start, many individuals would prefer ready-made foods than cooking at home because of the lack of time to prepare it themselves. Purchasing pre-packed goods undeniably saves a lot of time. For instance, my cousin, who is a working student, buys herself canned goods that only requires to be prepared in just a couple of minutes. It does not require her to waste a lot of time to slice it or cook it, perhaps. Hence, pre-packed foods are preferred by someone who is very conscious to time. In addition, as the ready-made foods become time-efficient, money however is wasted. When buying foods from shops and restaurants, the prices seemed to be a bit higher. One does not just pay for the ingredients used but also the time and effort allocated by the one who cooked. To illustrate, when I buy for a serving of pasta in a fast food, it would cost me more than twice the amount I could have just spend when I buy scratch ingredients and cook it myself. Since the readily made available foods are much pricier compared to the price you have paid when you make yourself, thus a few dollars would be wasted as well. To put it in a nutshell, buying pre-packed meals do have an advantage and a disadvantage. While it does save a lot of time by quitting the process of preparing, money however, is put to waste as readymade foods are much pricier. One has to weigh the benefits and drawbacks before deciding whether to just eat a home-cooked meal or not.