Nowadays many jobs are more stressful and the working day is longer. What are the reasons for this? What can employers do to help employees?

The economic inflation, increased unemployment and nature of businesses around the globe have made it mandatory for employees to work longer hours. The long and challenging working hours, social and economical condition and modernization have also increased the amount of stress we feel in our working places. I would say a positive and balanced lifestyle, realistic expectation and support from the employers can address this pressing issue. First of all, managing a decent job and earning livings have become competitive nowadays. The economic inflation has made it quite tough to live a standard life and to support the family. While the 50% of the world property are owned by merely 7% of people, more than 50% people in the world have very little to support their family and children. So when they get a job they are ready to work as many hours as their employers demand to earn a living. Without a job those people will starve and they are mostly factory workers and labours who comprise the largest portion of the workforce in many countries. There are plenty of qualified graduates who are struggling to get a job only because the competition is too high. So when someone solely relies on the salary he earns, he has to obey the rule imposed by the employers and it is not uncommon that many private organisations expect the employees to work more than 10 hours per day. The government’s lack of control in private industries in many countries is the reason why employees in these companies have to work longer hours. The businesses nowadays are transforming to global nature and it is not rare for many companies to have offshore offices. In many technology-related companies, people are working more than 14 hours per day and remaining attached with their colleagues from home. The long working hours, job responsibility, peer pressure and sedentary lifestyle of employees are increasing the stress related issues faster than any time in history. The increased violence, corruption and crime are also the reasons many employees in the defence and public sectors suffer from stress. Interestingly the bad traffic in many cities is one of the major reasons people feel stressed while commuting to their offices. The employers can play a great role to reduce the working hours and thus controlling the work related pressures among employees. In fact, long working hours is not a guarantee of better productivity and the employers have to understand that. They can reduce the working hours, offers leaves and support morally to keep their employees happy. The employers should understand the impact of performance between a stressed and a happy employee. Simple appreciation from an employer can make a great impact and the employers have to respect their employees not treat them as servants.