Nowadays, it seems that people tend to waste a great amount of food. Why do you think this is happening? And how can we solve this problem?

These days, people are buying a lot of food which ends up being thrown away. The essay below will analyze some major reasons for this situation, and measures to tackle this problem will be presented. There are two main explanations why food is being wasted. One of the reasons food is thrown away is because consumers fail to have a thorough plan of what they are going to buy before they shop. Commonly, many people only have vague ideas of what meals or foodstuffs they might consume over the next few days, and this often leads to their shopping carts full of products they might never use. Secondly, food wastage can occur when people make poor choices for their diet. Huge quantities of food remaining unused might be a sign that consumers’ diets are going undesirably. Some measures are suggested to mitigate the situation. One effective solution is to make a list of ingredients and foodstuffs that one is going to purchase before she goes shopping. This way helps consumers to have time to prepare and decide wisely what products should be bought, which eventually saves a lot of unnecessary food. Furthermore, people should do careful research on reasonable diets in advance of going to food stores so that they can know what ingredients are best for their state of health. In conclusion, poor planning for meals and unwise choices of diet mainly contribute to the amount of unused food at the moment, and thorough preparation is key to avoid further food wastage.