Nowadays, food travels thousands of miles from the farm to the consumer. It is a positive or a negative development?

It is true that foods play an indispensable part in our lives, and an increasing number of food items have travelled huge distances from the farms to supermarkets. While I accept that this may suit many people, I believe that it is still largely drawbacks. On the one hand, there are a variety of reasons why transporting foods over long distances is a positive development. Firstly, in terms of purchasers, they have many diversified choices to enjoy the foods all over the World, particularly the special cuisine which can not be produced in their city. Take cherries is an example, it is my brother’s cup of tea, although this fruit is not grown in Viet Nam, he still tastes them because of convenient importing. Secondly, in terms of sellers, they can extend the trading market, maybe to other areas or oversea countries. Thus, it not only gains higher profit but also increases the export turnover of their country. On the other hand, I suppose that using the means of transport like planes, lorries and cars leads to some disadvantages. First, it costs suppliers great deal to transport and preserve the goods. Hence, the prices of those products will be higher compared to other similar products producing in the areas where they are consumed. In addition, buyers can face health problems, due to with the thousands of miles of travelling, fruits and vegetables can hardly be kept fresh without preservatives which cause serious harm to human body. As the result, this food may be lost a large proportion of nutrition through chemical additives. All in all, it is certainly true that supplying foods directly from the farm to other areas is obvious benefits, but this is by no means many negative developments do not exist.