Many elderly people are are no long looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend

In recent years, more senior citizens are being placed in retirement homes by their relatives instead of caring for them by themselves. Although this trend has some upsides such as giving family members the time to take care of their own needs and ensuring that the appropriate care is given to these individuals, it also has some downsides. On the one hand, placing advanced family members in care homes has some benefits. Firstly, it allows their relatives who cater for them the opportunity to attend to their personal concerns. Since caring for the aged may be time consuming, seeking the services of these institutions creates time to attend to other pursuits such as a career, spouse or child. Secondly, these centers are equipped to provide specialized care for the aged. Old age is often accompanied by health problems requiring expert care which can be received in these homes for the elderly. On the other hand, admitting aged relatives into these establishments has some demerits. One of such drawbacks is that being separated from their families and familiar surroundings may lead to depression for such ones. That is to say, they may experience difficulties adjusting to a new environment and this will likely take an emotional toll on them. Another problem associated with this trend is that it may cause estrangement among the family members involved. This is because these aged individuals may grow resentful towards their relatives, attributing being placed in a care home to abandonment. To sum up, placing old members of the family in care homes has some merits. However, the extreme sadness experienced by those placed in homes for the aged, along with the rift it creates between relatives are important minus points to considered.