Nowadays families are not as close as they used to be. What do you think are the causes of this? What can be done to make families closer?

In recent years it has become far more common for families to grow apart. In my opinion, both parents and children are the key players for this problem, and they should be the ones responsible for resolving it. There are many reasons to bring about the observed decline in the closeness of families. The most obvious one is connected to the busy lifestyles that we now lead. Most people have to work longer hours, and often both parents work, so they do not have as much time to spend with each other or their children as they did in the past. Another reason is distance. Children become adults, high school students apply for distant universities, and so forth. Such an event is a turning point among any families, which if not carefully handled, could mean growing not only physically apart but also emotionally. As a result, time and distance can be seen contributing significantly to the diversion of modern families. Therefore, to unite as a family, through thick and thin, requires efforts from all family members and not just one party. The first step is to invest more time in familial relationships. Making time to call or to connect to parents, siblings, or children on social media platforms, for example, means a lot to the person on the other end of the line. However, though a virtual connection is essential in today's society, face-to-face interactions are still critical to build up strong relationships. Families, therefore, should initiate real-life reunions regularly. Scheduled holidays in advance can be a great way to stay in touch, and give everyone something to look forward to. In summary, as society changes, families inevitably have to adapt to such transformations, which can make members less close compared to the old days. Nonetheless, such issues can be overcome as long as all parties in the family are willing to invest their time for their loved ones.