Nowadays consumer goods have become the most important part of people’s lives. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

With recent technological advancements, the production processes of consumer goods have become quicker and more comfortable. It was observed that usage of retail goods is increasing day by day, and these goods are playing an essential role in today's lifestyle. There are many positive and negative consequences as a result of this. Undoubtedly, as a result of modern targeted advertising, people are forced to buy many retail products, even though those are not necessary. Most of the time, the purchased consumer goods are not used and kept aside. Advertisements of attractive online offers and credit card offers force people to buy; however, as a result of this behaviour, people run into credit card debts. Nevertheless, by carefully selecting what is actually needed and then moving to purchase the products, people can enjoy many benefits. Moreover, these goods are mainly targeted to ease the work in a productive manner, and by proper usage, people can save time. In the current lifestyle, consumers search for products which assist in reducing energy usage as well as their time. Furthermore, the companies are investing heavily in research and development to introduce new consumer products ranging from kitchen to living room. A decade a ago to prepare a meal took nearly two hours, nonetheless, currently with the assist of consumer products that have reduced it to one hour. In the past, a flat television screen cost a fortune, though now it cost a fraction of that with additional features such as surround sound and 3D effects in HD quality. In conclusion, the advantages of usage of consumer goods outweigh the disadvantages. Carefully selecting the proper products people have the luxury of saving time and they can enjoy life to the fullest.