Nowadays congestion and traffic jams are a common and major problem in most cities. Some people believe it is a good idea to construct wider roads to resolve this issue. What can be the solution, in your opini

There is a saying that ‘History is who we are and why we are the way we are. History is not just the past. History is the present. ’. While some people claim that learning about what happened in the past has nothing do to with us who are living in the present, I believe that it is important to study history for some following reasons. To begin with, studying lessons from the past is essential to mankind’s development as we can learn from forebears’ experience. The development of the world today is followed by the past’s successes and failures. As lessons are drawn from historical events, man learn from ancestors’ mistakes and avoid repeating them in the future. It is particularly important for a country’s citizens to learn about their history so as to develop the country without causing catastrophe. To cite Vietnam as an example, it is a Communist country despite having been for centuries a colony of France which is a prosperous Capitalism country at that time. Throughout the history, Vietnamese learn to know that Capitalism had tormented their people and only Socialist revolution could save their country. The victory of Vietnam in The August Revolution is a lesson for other enslaved nations in the world to follow and achieve success. Also, the history tells how fiercely their forefathers had been fighting for peace and independence. As a result, they understand the loss and the misery in the past and appreciate what they have today. Learning about what happened in the past makes them feel the gratefulness and the responsibility to develop the country. Moreover, learning the history is important as it teaches us to think. There are people saying that learning about what happened in the past is useless because the history is just the record of place and time but it is more than that. When learning about the past, people think of the greatest question man could ever ask “Why? ”. A historical event can be seen from many different angles and how it is judged makes it bad or good. In this case, history teaches us to see everything from other views and ask why that is. This would deepen one mind and be helpful in other aspects of life. For example, if a person wants to study major in Politics, studying history is vital to be a excellent politician as it teaches him to see the problems from other perspectives and understand deeply the situation. In short, learning about the past is not useless at all. It is considered the first step to building a better future for both individual and his country.