Nowadays companies and other organisations are requiring their employees to wear a uniform. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

The topic of whether companies or organisations should require employees to wear a uniform is of concern for many workers and managers. Some believe that it is important for companies’ professional images, while others claim that the uniform has negative impacts on staff performance. In this essay, I will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of dressing uniforms. There are many benefits for the employees of wearing the dress defined by their employers. First of all, getting dressed has consistently been an additional advertising way for a company. Some organisations use the uniforms as a symbol of their corporate identity like airlines, hotels, restaurants, enhancing their visibility to the world outside and causing free advertisement of the “brand” they represent. In the medical setting, for instance, nurses and ambulance officers must wear their uniform, so their patients or visitors can identify the staff instantly and respect them. Furthermore, uniform could play a vital role among employees by creating harmony and confidence. Actually, uniform is able to encourage employees in a company or an organization to cooperate and work hard together because they feel that they belong to the same group of people and are not left out. However, there is no doubt that every coin has two sides, in some ways a uniform will bring an uncomfortable motion to almost people. The biggest minus side is wearing uniform limit self-expression and the individuality. We live in a dynamic society, full of unique characters that make our world a spontaneous one. People might get bored while wearing same coloured dress everyday and therefore, their excitement, confidence and work efficiency is likely to be affected adversely. In conclusion, although wearing the homogeneous dress can be boring for employees, I believe that creating harmony and confidence and the brand recognition it brings outweigh the drawbacks.