Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

In earlier days, household or domestic waste was not recycled at all. With the increase in population, waste generation increased day-by-day and the dumping grounds began filling up steadily, leading to the concept of recycling. Nowadays recycling has become a necessity for better sustainability of resources. In many countries, laws are made just so that people get the reason to follow something. Same is the case with recycling. Due to lack of awareness or difficulty in recycling, people are not willing to recycle. Government should make laws to force the people to recycle more and even fine them if they do not. Laws will make it easier for people to get into businesses of collecting litter from homes and recycling, thereby leading to employment as well. I have seen laws being implemented and people change if not very soon but gradually over the years. The Government implemented laws are always favoured by some and not so much by others. To make people recycle more, they should be made aware and taught how to segregate their household waste. Unaware or illiterate people may be likely to oppose laws thinking it may harm them in some way or the other. The ruling government’s opposition will find ways to make the laws as a way of corruption. I agree that laws should be implemented and along with it awareness programmes have to be launched by the government to increase recycling. The laws should be aided with assigning a newly formed department for the same reason. People will have to believe in the initiative, but in fact, drive them, to help their home country for a better sustainable future.