Nowadays, children watch TV more than they did in the past. What are reasons? Give solutions

In recent years there has been a significant increase in the frequency of watching television in children as compared to the past. This phenomenon has been necessitated not only by dual-income families, but also by the lack of other leisure activities for children. These reasons will be discussed in this essay, as well as suggesting some strategies to curb this. Discussing the reasons, the first and foremost one is dual-income families. To elaborate, these days in most families, both parents are of the working class unlike in the past, hence this leaves them with less time to spend with their children, as a result the children will prefer watching TV. For instance, a child with parents who goes to work spends more time on television because parents' jobs are more demanding. Nevertheless, lack of diversity of playing activities in the community also plays a role, for example, swimming facilities near residential areas. In order to stay occupied, children will watch TV indoors because recreational facilities are limited. Moving on to strategies, the most useful might be the introduction or the provision of more recreational and playing facilities as well as the devotion of more time to children by parents during their off days or vacation leaves. If more swimming pools, jumping castles are to be made available locally, then children would spend more time playing rather than watching television. Parents need also to plan some family gateways on their vacation days, so as to spend more time with children, thus reducing television watching. For example going shopping, visiting museums and game parks. In conclusion, the rise in the popularity of television watching by children these days is mainly due to lack of family time, as well as the unavailability of playing stations and recreational facilities locally. However, spending more time with children on holidays and providing playing facilities in the community will help greatly.