Nowadays children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some people think that these activities are not good for a child's mental health.

Many parents try to reduce their children's addiction to TV and video games. They claim that these entertainments could harm the mental health of the children. Although I agree that watching TV and playing video games are mentally harmful, there are benefits offered by these activities as well. Parents have been wary of the presence of TV and video games among children. They are justifiably worried about various harmful contents, specifically violence contained in TV and video games. This substance can convey a wrong message that violence is justified. As an example, underage boys who watch boxing on the TV sometimes apply what they watch in real life by punching their friends whenever they are fighting. The bad behavior developed by watching these programs could affect the growth of the children, which could potentially lead them to become aggressive later on. Conversely, if leveraged correctly, TV and video games can provide multiple benefits for their audience. Aside from violent substances, there are other TV shows and games that can be educative. These types of entertainment have the ability to increase specific skills. For instance, video games about farming can trigger the curiosity of the children to learn about agriculture, while TV shows about an educational quiz can encourage them to study many subjects in a more interesting way. Thus, parents can identify and limit the type of activities involving electronic screens that can be beneficial for their kids. To conclude, although I agree that TV and video games bring disadvantages, I also believe that TV shows and video games should still present in children's lives to be rightly used as an attractive education tool.