Nowadays celebrities earn more money than politicians What are the reasons for this Is it a positive or negative development

These days, luminaries are more profitable in comparison with political representatives than ever before because of some reason. While some people may assume such a trend negative, I suppose it would be a desirable change. There are several reasons why luminaries make better money compared to political people. The biggest one among them is because today not a few people in the world are living in a capitalistic economy, where the more productive you are, the more rewarded you should be. In this regard, it is evident that the former is more rewarding than the latter since they contribute sales of any products or services by playing the role of advertisers in all kinds of media for their sponsors’ profit, for instance. another major reason for this is the growing global concern over irrationally high remuneration for lawmakers, which can easily lead to public discontent, or worse, corruption(26). In response to such criticism, the reformation of the remuneration system for legislators is recently underway in some governments around the world, generally resulting in a downward trend of the amount on average. Opinions on this development may vary, but I personally believe that it would be a preferable development in general as stated below. First of all, as I mentioned above, it is quite natural and rational that, in today’s world where capitalism is hegemonic, someone making values and contributing the market should be entitled to be financially rewarded. More specifically, if the people in the private sector like celebrities would be paid less than the ones in the public sector like politicians in spite of their productivity, this would demoralize them, not only causing economic stagnation but also losing social vitality as a whole. For another thing, if we admit the multi-million-dollar paycheques to politicians, it will definitely add burdens on our national finance. this is especially true in today’s world, where the numbers of the population are gradually decreasing, and in turn, so are the amounts of tax revenues. In fact, some of the local parliaments in Japan, for example, have decided that their members are completely voluntary, receiving no reward. In conclusion, I believe this development, deriving from a couple of reasons mentioned above, would be acceptable when considering our economic regime and financial situation.