Nowadays celebrities earn more money than politicians. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Due to the advancement of technology and rising social influence of the entertainment industry, celebrities’ incomes are reported to be invariably high in comparison with those of public figures. Personally, I remain a neutral opinion on this trend. Several reasons to justify my opinion are presented in this essays. The disparity in the salaries of celebrities and politicians can be attributed to several reasons. Firstly, thanks to the development of technology, nowadays entertainers can reach audiences and fans towards various means. Some platforms can be referred include the Internet which supports social networking sites, YouTube, or Netflix; TV shows and entertainment programs; the publication of CDs; cinemas and the list go on. What is more, many giants also use celebrity endorsement to promote their products, which also popularize prominent figures. Therefore, famous people deserve to earn more as their images are presented ubiquitously. From my personal perspective, I believe this trend brings about either positive or negative consequences. First and foremost, having lucrative incomes enables stars to share with the community by doing voluntary work, donating money to help poverty-stricken people, the homelessness or orphans. Being influenced by the icons of celebrities, the public would also be socially responsible and the whole society therefore will have a sense of community. However, the significant role of politicians should not be underestimated. A nation in particular and a whole society in general cannot be developed unless there is interference of political figures. Thus, both superstars and legislator perform equal importance. In conclusion, it is the expansion of the media that make popularization of high-profile people, which leads to a considerable discrepancy between their salaries and politicians’. I believe that although this phenomenon is positive in the way it raises people’s awareness about the society, the trend would not be long-lasting if it were not for the role of politicians who lead the economy of a country.