Nowadays an ordinary person can become popular through the Internet and TV media. Is it a positive or a negative development? Give your opinion and relevant examples.

Television and the internet are a boon to many talented individuals because it is a big platform where people can exhibit their special characteristics. Even a layman can become popular in these media. I think it is a positive development because many of the talented people who are just ordinary get recognised and this will be an inspiration to many others to become successful. Firstly, there are many adults who are considerably good in singing, dancing, sports, cooking, mathematics or general knowledge. So, these hidden talents will get recognised by identifying them in some competitions on television or the internet. In addition, an ordinary person if found guilty of wrong activities like theft, robbery or crimes also get recognised. Moreover, these media are viewed by millions of people all over the world, hence it is easy for an ordinary person to become an overnight sensation, if they are really talented. For example, Sunidhi Chauhan presently a popular playback singer was recognised in an Indian Idol show, where she won the title of first Indian Idol, when she was just 11years old. Secondly, when such a layman can become famous overnight, they inspire many others who may also be talented. In addition, people who become popular with media for the wrong things, can alert others to keep themselves away from such people. Moreover, popular shows like Slumdog Millionaire can inspire many ordinary people to dream about becoming rich. For instance, a slum boy became a millionaire after winning in this talent show. Therefore, even the underprivileged become more confident and successful after watching such shows on TV. In conclusion, TV and the internet are the biggest platforms for ordinary people to expose their special nature and this definitely is a positive development. Not only their hidden talent gets recognised, but they inspire many others to achieve bigger success.