nformation technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities.

People are living a better and more accomplished life due to the increased use of technology which has changed several aspects of our lives and in use in different areas of life. This essay will discuss the advantages which IT has given to the world when compared to the disadvantages as been discussed in some quarters. Firstly, in terms of communication and collaboration, IT has helped to bridge the communication gap. The use of email, short message service and chats means we can talk to one another irrespective of where we are in the world seamlessly. By using these methods, you can talk or see one another virtually irrespective of the distance between us. WhatsApp video calls are an example of how it can be used to reach other people anywhere they are in the world. Secondly, its use in healthcare. Virtual reality has taken over medical procedures in the hospitals as it is used to perform surgical operations making it easier to save lives without having to cut open human beings. By using virtual reality, a specialist surgeon is not required to be physically present to carry out a procedure but can use the Internet to achieve this. This technology has been used a procedure to remove an appendix. Thirdly, in the area of automation. Several car manufacturing companies have deployed technology to assemble cars rather than use human beings who are prone to mistakes. By programming machines to assemble cars, the process is much faster, more productive and more efficient leading to better cars on the roads. Companies such as Honda, Toyota and Hyhundai are leading examples in this sector. In conclusion, technology has done more good than harm to the society than initially thought and the continuous improvement of it will make the world a better place to live in.