News stories on TV or in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. what is your opinion about this?

It is generally believed that news and events on media and newspaper can impact a better influence on readers if they are described in addition of photos. I tend to agree with those people as photographs may increase the efficiency of a new story and make the way of understanding easier. To begin with, pictures might have more power to draw reality and describing the facts in comparison with words. For instance, if newspaper report an accident and explain how much the cars involved in crash are damaged, it can be imagined a proportion of real detriment. However, a photo of an accident will be able to show the profound of infliction of cars to each other and estimate the real amount of damage. Hence, although costs more money, reporting an event accompanied by pictures may lead to enhanced realizing it. Another point is that the pictures have unfolded the possibility to transfer feelings and emotions through the news. It might be more effective to explain the real sensations beyond an event by presenting its image. A case in point, the sadness of people lost their relatives in a disaster such as earthquake cannot be illustrated by a quotation and a photo would be of great use to reveal their actual pain. Therefore, in terms of emotion expression, crucial as that undoubtedly is combining news with drawing or adding photograph probably is a drastic measure to raise its influence. By way of conclusion, it appears to me that photos could improve the efficiency of news compared words.