Governments spend a lot of money on public celebrations such as national holidays and public festivals. Some people say that the government spends too much on this and that they should use this money on other useful things.

One of the most controversial issues these days is whether the governments of various countries should avoid spending on public celebrations. Since I believe such activities are vital for a country’s customs and traditions, I disagree with this notion. To begin with, some people argue that public celebrations are a waste of government resources, especially in monetary terms. They believe such events have no gain and do not contribute to the development of a country; instead, they burden the national treasury. The proponents of this argument state, a country should focus more on its vulnerable areas and allocate funds to improve the dire conditions of its underdeveloped regions rather than spending lavishly on celebrations. Thus, it is clear why people disagree with extravagant government spending’s on national events. Meanwhile, the publicly celebrated events are unique in every country and are a strong indicator of their culture, tradition, and history. In addition, such celebrations have proved to boost the tourism industry. As people travel to other countries to experience different cultures, there is no better way than to plan a visit when public celebrations are in full swing in a host country. For example, 23rd March is publicly celebrated in my country. This day has great significance in the independence of Pakistan; therefore, a national parade is conducted every year with participants from all over Pakistan. People from nearby countries come to enjoy this parade, and it is a great learning experience for the future generations as well. Therefore, it is easy to see why public celebrations are necessary. Having discussed the most pertinent points of the issue, I feel the only logical conclusion is that spending on public celebrations is important for a country. Since the expenses on public celebrations are a drop in the ocean compared to other projects, even if the government ceases to fund such events and shifts that money to solve other issues it would not move the needle.