News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

In modern society, with the advent of advanced telecommunication and photographic technologies, visual expression in media such as television, photography and films is increasingly becoming popular as a powerful means of expression when compared to the simple mundane printed medium. I agree with the view that the visual channel of receiving information is more effective. One of the major missions to be accomplished by TV and the printed media is to leave a deep-rooted impression on people’s minds. For instance, commercial advertisements tend to use images rather than words. It is proved that twice as easy as text, photos are committed to the memory. That is to say, pictures contain shapes and colors which can be easily memorized. Simply put, the more they are utilized, the longer the influence on viewers’ mind. Moreover, in the present evidence - seeking world, visual communication is a powerful tool as it provides recognizable facts. Meticulously crafted images, like political cartoons and television documentaries readily deliver the concerned messages to onlookers and are mostly beneficial in conveying thoughts to the busy and uneducated sections of society. The television is also being bombarded with numerous catchy advertisements, by which manufacturers try to communicate with the masses regarding their products. In addition, to cover full details, words are liable to occupy more space, as opposed to images. These illustrations are more likely to fulfill the portrayal of a specific story when faced with spatial constraints. For example, the comic magazines and newspapers prefer to use more photos not only for consuming fewer papers and saving more of those but also to encourage their readers to follow the whole narrative, mainly because just a few of the readers tend to read through an article. Yet, almost all the photos get noticed. In other words, photos carrying more data capture the reader’s attention in a glimpse. This in turn stimulates disinclined people to read the words as well so as to expand their knowledge on the subject matter. To conclude, visual communication is definitely a popular, powerful and better tool for official and interpersonal purposes. In my view, because of the more technological advances, people are getting used to less wordy materials, thereby gravitating towards the photo-based media in the foreseeable future.