News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

Undoubtedly, nowadays, news stories are invariably coupled with the visual representations. Some think that such images convey the information more effectively than using mere text. In my opinion, this is an actual fact and the prime two reasons will be elucidated in this essay alongwith some appropriate illustrations. First and foremost, in order to grab the eyeballs of many, the news are telecasted on TV with different videos along with the captions such as 'BREAKING NEWS' or 'JUST IN'. Had it been only the captions their viewership would have declined drastically. This also holds true in case of newspapers and the increased readership. Take an example of the national newspaper, 'The Times of India' which publishes all sorts of news with various colourful images to get the attention. It was yesterday only, that my neighbour brought his newspaper and announced in sheer joy that his favourite leader has won the elections and the entire page included not only the statistical data, but also that leader's photo with victory sign. Secondly, the pictorial representations/videos leaves a long-lasting impression on our minds. Because, these images gets stored in our subconscious minds which might reflect in our actions, later in our lives. It is due to this reason, our grandparents and parents have always advised us to watch good and inspirational news, for instance, the achievements of ISRO in launching its own satellites for GPS and other functions. Such news will ignite the young minds and would not divert them from achieving success in their lives. In one study conducted by the American researchers involved in the field of psychology, they proved statistically that, the subjects tend to remember the pictures for more than 5 years whereas the words occupied their memory for only 3 months. In conclusion, I reiterate that, the news reports, when presented with visuals are more effective than attractive headlines/taglines and the two major reasons are 'seeking attention' and leaving a lasting footprint on people's minds.