News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about it?

It has been sought of a tradition from the media industry to include pictures or videos along with news stories. This essay will discuss different views regarding the importance of pictures to newspapers or TV articles. To begin with, the media industry have mastered the art of using captivating images of stories in order to grab the attention of their viewers or readers. This has proven to be a very efficient strategy in getting widespread coverage for news stories. For example, if there was a natural disaster like a volcanic eruption, that occurred in the coastal mountains of Canada, a picture of its occurrence in a story would grab the attention of most audience whether it be in a newspaper or TV. This is because they are able to visualize and summarize the entire story based on that picture. Secondly, as the popular saying goes "a picture tells a thousand words". A single image of a story's subject matter, either joyous or sorrowful, can have significant impact on viewers as stated initially. Moreover, some critics could also argue that the headline of a news story is more impactful than an image that depicts the exact same scenario. For example, a journalism school based in the UK ran a study some years ago that showed news headlines had the same impact as pictures on consumers. It was further stated that utilizing both headlines and images would increase the coverage of that story to its audiences. In conclusion, I agree that utilizing pictures in articles is very effective and most audience including myself would prefer to view a picture regarding a news story than read a thousand words.