In some parts of the world it is becoming popular to find ones history, why are they doing it and is it a positive or negative development?

Exploring about one’s family history is conspicuously rising in many countries around the world and this is done by exploring through genetic database. In my opinion, this process aids to identify one’s cultural heritage and it’s significance which is a very progressive development. Firstly, in todays world people migrate to different countries in search of better opportunities and comfortable living conditions, the process in which they tend to adapt the culture of the migrated countries. In order to identify their roots, they tend to research their family history which not only gives them a better understanding of who they are, also a sense of pride of their cultural identity and the broader aspect of better recognition of their place in this world. Furthermore, knowing about one’s family history can extrapolate their life span and can prescient various medical conditions which will aid them to lead a better life. Also, it can help them find if there are any skills or crafts that their earlier generations have specialized on which could be passed to the future generations. For example, their ancestors could have possessed skills about trading, music or business acumen which they can now associate with and can continue towards assiduously building such skills which will could yield positive development and reinforce their identity in the society. Also, it helps families to make decisions which they were initially uncertain about before knowing their history. This will give people a sense of satisfaction and relief to know how their previous generations have made certain essential decisions while leading their lives. To conclude, knowing about one’s history not only gives them a better understanding of who they are, but reinforces their cultural heritage and their place in the society which is a very positive development which is taking place across various countries around the world.