New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages? .

With increasing crime in the world, technology has tried to develop tools to reduce crime. In many metropolitan areas, CCTV is on the increase with the express purpose of reducing crime. However, some would argue that these encroach upon our liberty. I do agree the use of such tools create some problems, but in a broader vision, these devices bring more comfort. To start with, the primary problem which takes place by the use of surveillance cameras is of privacy. The overwhelming majority of people filmed through these cameras are law-abiding citizens and no one has the right to monitor them. Secondly, to install such devices a handsome amount of fund is required, that could be used in some other field like education or health care. However, there are various benefits of using these gadgets that overweigh the problems associated with them. Firstly, they deter crime because criminals are less likely to commit crimes if they know they are being watched. In addition to this, the record could be used as a piece of evidence for proving a crime and recognition of the culprits. For example, in many terrorist attacks, the attackers have been identified through the footage and then punished accordingly. Furthermore, in some cases, these devices proved to be useful when someone lost his belongings. In conclusion, these devices bring comfort in numerous ways and the problems merged with them could be tackled with careful planning of government authorities. However, they play a critical role in controlling the crime rate.