It is often said that governments spend too much money on projects to protect wildlife, while there are other problems that are more important?

It is argued that governments give too much importance to the conservation of wild animals, while neglecting more severe issues in their countries. This essay disagrees with this statement because animals play an important part in our ecosystem, and they need to be protected from people that exploit them for their unethical benefits. To begin with, animals play a vital part in the proper functioning of our ecosystem. Since life forms depend on one another for survival, the extinction of one animal can have adverse effects on the whole food chain. Therefore, it is a moral responsibility for humans, who are considered the most intelligent species in the world, to protect this chain from any disruption. For example, due to global warming, many penguins and polar bears have been displaced from their homes. It is vital that that these creatures are taken care of, or else they will soon cease to exist. Another point to consider is the exploitation of wild animals by humans. Many exotic animals are hunted by poachers, who sell their body parts for various monetary gains. For instance, Elephant tusks are considered to have high medicinal properties in Indian culture. Due to this, they were hunted extensively to the point that their numbers have reduced to a few thousands in the last 2 decades. Since then, special elephant reserves have been built by the Indian government to counter this issue, whereas if left unattended, they would have been extinct in the country within a few years. In conclusion, it is evident that governments should prioritize wildlife conservation because without such projects, the effects on our ecosystem will be devastating and lead to many animals being extinct.