Students are becoming more and more reliant on computers. What are some of the problems associated with reliance on computers, and what are some of the possible solutions?

In recent years, there has been an increased integration of technology within the education sector. This essay will discuss the problems of relying on technology and provide some possible solutions. Firstly, an increased dependency on computers to type up essays and notes has had detrimental effects on the handwriting of students. For example, many students rely on their devices to type up their work leading to sloppy handwriting as they have not written for periods of time. However, in the future when apply for visas or documents everything must be handwritten, hence proving problematic. In order to avoid this, schools should implement mandatory assignments which have to be done by hand. In addition, many students who spend large amounts of time researching solely using the computer, do not have the ability to gather information from other sources. To illustrate, many high school students neglect books and newspapers in turn for google and wikipedia. This information which is available to students in a few seconds, does not teach them how to look and go through many sources in order to find what they need. Therefore, in order to expand the pupils resources schools should introduce a criteria which demands they use a variety of source types. In conclusion, the increased reliance on technology by students have led to negligible handwriting and the children’s inability to use other resources. However, it is hoped that both leaders in the education sector and teachers work together to implement rules and regulations to avoid this problems from expanding.