n the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

More and more students choose to spend their college life in another country for many reasons. Although some overseas students may face difficulties, I think this trend has more benefits than drawbacks. Admittedly, studying in a foreign country has multiple advantages. Most students who choose to study abroad often prefer those universities which are more prestigious than domestic colleges in terms of teaching staff and library resources. These universities enable the students to enjoy a higher teaching quality and a bigger scale of knowledge, which may ensure graduates have a promising career prospects after being equipped with sufficient professional abilities. Besides, young people can be more independent when living in another country, because they need to cope with a number of issues without help, such as paying utility bills. Due to the fact that independence is a necessary working skill, it is more possible for the students who have the experience of studying abroad to have better performance in their careers. However, studying in another country can also bring some disadvantages. Some overseas students may face mental problems because of the suffering of loneliness. They may find it difficult to establish new friendships and may be unable to integrate with a new society. Instead of studying hard in colleges, these students only stay at home all day long and refuse to communicate with others. This may lead to mental diseases such as depressions and insomnia. Nevertheless, this problem can be solved within the help of some related school departments such as a student centre. In conclusion, people who study abroad can gain benefits in terms of academic abilities and living skills, while the difficulties can be tackled. Generally, having more opportunities of studying in a foreign country is a positive trend.