In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Most cultures value the concept of pursuing knowledge. In the 21st century, we now have many more options on how and where to find that knowledge. Let’s say you are a French national. You can apply to do an economics degree in the USA. An American citizen can take a course in linguistics in France. Most universities across the world have a lot of foreign students. Certainly, there are a lot of advantages of studying in a different country. Many students always choose to do this nowadays. This is because they know some university such as Havard Business School is popular. Graduating from here increases their chances of getting a job in a company back home. Students studying abroad also have the chance to make friends with people of different nationalities. In time, these may develop into useful professional networks. Furthermore, living far from family and friends can allow young people to become more independent. Unfortunately, the experience of studying abroad is not always a good one. Research says that a few young people cannot adapt to their new environment. They suffer from culture shock too. The situation can become worse. For example, the student might not be mature enough to deal with this. Different ways of teaching and learning may shock the students too. In conclusion, the key to a good experience at a foreign university is an open mind. Students should always seize this opportunity.