Museums are becoming less important in our life due to the rapid development of technology. with this statement?

Whether or not museums still hold the same significance in the time of rapid advancement in technology has remained a burning topic of debate. While it is true that museums have several shortcomings which technology can resolve, I would argue that museums are of as great vitality to humanity as they were before the technological revolution. Museums do have numerous drawbacks regarding time limitation, artifacts maintanence and expensive price. Central to my stance is that museum visitors usually face time constraint caused by restricted opening hours. On the contrary, information on the Internet or even virtual museums are available at any time of the day; hence it is more convenient and schedule-fitting. Another critical downside of museums is that works on display are more vulnerable to damage. Certain exhibits are to be preserved in their own favorable conditions, which are quite hard for museums to cater for. This can lead to the destruction of valuable artifacts in the long run. Last but not least, museums visits are often costly. Not many museums are free, in fact, admission fees are often expensive. Additionally, there are other fees that are worth taking into consideration such as transportation, etc. which is usually not the case when using the Internet. Nevertheless, museums still grants exclusive merits in terms of social interaction and sensory immersion. In the first place, it is inevitable that museums promote social engagement. Visitors have a chance to attend exhibitions, conferences, festivals and other events; where they might meet like-minded companions. These meetings could spark meaningful and informed conversations, establish beneficial relationships as well as expand one’s social circle. A more observable benefit of museums is that it they provide sensory immersion. To illustrate, artists and art lovers would love to go to art museums such as the Louvre or the Van Gogh Museum to truly appreciate the artworks. Besides. several exhibitions introduce elements that can be touched, smelled, or even tasted in order to give visitors a fully engaging experience. All things considered, while technology does tackle several problems of museums such as time restriction, exhibits preservation and expensiveness, museums still have its own values namely social and sensory engagement. I am biased to the fact that the decision of visiting actual or virtual museums is based on one’s personal taste and preferences.