Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or working a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

These days, learning a new language has many benefits including gathering knowledge of different countries, more job opportunities, better communication skills and so on. While some people believe that there is only one reason for learning a foreign language is to visit or work in a foreign country, other people think that the advantages of learning other languages are not limited to the job or travel. On one hand, people desire to learn another language is able to communicate with people who speak this language. Hence, a large number of people learn some languages such as English, Chinese, Japanese, French, Spanish, German either to visit or find jobs in the countries where people use these languages. In addition, although travelling is temporary, the basic conversation is needed such as ordering food, asking for direction, going to market and so on. Also, the local people will be more friendly with travelers who can speak their language. On the other hand, learning new languages gives people two important advantages. Firstly, knowing a different language is the same as a person can discover a new country, understand the cultures of this nation. Besides, people also find out more new things such as foods, books, movies and so on by reading or watching. Secondly, leaning languages help people improve memory. When people study foreign vocabulary, it is a good way to practise the human brain. This also helps people are confident to communicate with foreigners. In conclusion, this might be true that people learn new language for finding job or travelling in overseas. In my view, it gives many benefits for people like understanding about new cultures and improving better skills. Therefore, it would be better if people spend little time learning a new language.