Museums and art galleries should concentrate on local works rather than showing the cultures or artworks from other countries.

Museums and art galleries help visitors better understand the role of history and important artworks, and preserve important collections at the same time. But many people opine that the collection should showcase only the artefacts and artworks of the host country. I disagree with this opinion since art is a medium to express thoughts and ideas beyond boundaries and history of nations are interconnected. Admittedly, museums and art exhibits exist to foster a better understanding of the importance of historical artefacts and arts in our lives and that is why national pride and archives should be emphasised to teach people their national history. But art is an important medium of free expression and the history extends beyond the border. So the collection of a museum should not be confined to geographical boundaries. For example, "Mona Lisa" is a legendary artwork of Leonardo Da Vinci who was an Italian artist in the 15th century. Despite being an Italian, Da Vinci is an iconic genius for the whole world. Mona Lisa is now preserved at the Louvre Museum in France, and having this artwork and many other famous international paintings and sculptures, France can only boast of its fine collection that showcases masterpieces, great artworks and world history to the global audience. Moreover, history is not confined to a single country and if this was the case, we would have taught our students only our national history. The fate of nations was interconnected throughout history and it still is. So when we want to teach our children about our history, we must teach them about international events. Since one of the primary objectives of museums is to teach people about history, they must have artworks and collections from the international arena. Finally, when we display artefacts and works from foreign countries, we are connecting nations all over the world. Each culture has something new to teach and the cultural richness of a nation depends on how they accept a new culture. From this perspective, having museums that comprise collections from the host country is a bad idea. To conclude, museums and art galleries that have national artefacts and artworks besides having international collections are far rich and practical in exchanging cultural aspects.