Most schools in Vietnam, nowadays, put more weight on ”teach to the test” lessons rather than experiential lessons so that students can easily enter their dreaming universities with flying colors. Do you think it is a good trend

Education has always been a serious issue that gained a lot of attention from people all over the world. In Vietnam, most school thinks more highly of “teach to the test” lessons more than experiential lessons as they believe that such classes can make it easier for students to enter their desired universities with superb results. From my perspective, I think this trend can pose some detrimental problems to students. One of the consequences of teaching to the test is cheating in exams. Since their whole course is focused on the test, students may withstand higher pressure of passing exams along with the growing fear of failure. Such anxieties will stimulate students to try any possible cheating method just to make sure they get a passing score. As a result, students become too dependent on cheating to pass tests regardless of the knowledge they actually acquire. Crucial information and skills being skipped is another negative impact of “teach to the test” lessons. It is such an inextricable problem that many teachers can accidentally miss some of the key, relevant information owing to their planned teaching program of test plan or practice exams. For example, if students are strictly taught the six hands-on skills they need to know for the NOCTI Medical Assisting exam, they will be able to do those skills easily; but medical assistants need to know how to do more than just those six skills. Consequently, this way of teaching can hinder students’ future work as it does not provide them with complete vital skills as well as knowledge to perform the needed tasks. Teaching to the test can help students do better on their exams, but it often results in students learning based on memorization instead of practice or critical thinking. Not just by memorizing knowledge, students also need to know how to carry out processes, use technology, and solve problems for a well-rounded studying. Furthermore, if students are learning only for passing a test, they are likely to encounter barriers that preclude them from not only having a long-term retention of information they have learnt but also a profound understanding of the lessons. Additionally, such method of teaching reduces students’ exposure to real experience and application of the lessons. This can be tremendously prejudicial to students as they may pass a certification exam, but they’ll end up lacking numerous essential skills and having to re-learn a lot of information on the job after they’re hired. Thus, students might be qualified as substandard or even worse, face the risk of dismissal. To sum up, teaching to the test is a negative trend that needs to be taken into serious consideration before being put into actual use according to its devastating influences on students’ education.