At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweighs the disadvantages.

The world’s population has increased tremendously over the past few decades. Currently, the majority portion of a country’s population comprises children and the adolescents when the census indices are carefully studied. This has led to disproportion among various age groups leading to a variegated picture. In my opinion, the younger people have overall more dis-credits as compared to benefits due to several factors. The main disadvantage of the current situation revolves around the un-employment that occurs resultantly. To clarify this, I would argue that the jobs which are created in a specific society over a specific period of time are limited. However, when the number of population indices reverses favouring the young, tough competition arises leading to a dramatic increase in un-employment. To give a clear example, Pakistan is among those countries that witnessed a rapid increase in the population over the last twenty years. This has contributed significantly towards a surge in younger graduates looking for a job. Contrary to this, benefits of such a situation centers on the human resource which plays a pivotal role in the growth of a country. By this I mean that as the number of earning hands increases, it leads to a rapid growth in the national exchequer. For instance, many European countries especially, Denmark, Finland and Norway are struggling hard to run their systems smoothly due to the non-availability of manpower. Other countries like Japan are propagating special packages to import literary people from around the world due to a sharp decline in their population growth. Moreover, the elderly now constitute the majority thus straining meagre resources due to increased expenditure on their health care and rehabilitation. To conclude, young people are a double edge sword, helping the country’s economy in terms of human resource on one hand while adding to the liabilities on the other as far as employment and other social sectors are concerned. Therefore, the current pattern observed needs a balance according to the resources.