Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. with this opinion?

Traditional festivals always lighten the darkened soul within us. Surprisingly, the majority of the people are devoid of the knowledge and its related significance in celebrating these festivals. They blindly party these festivities just for the sake of pleasure, without knowing the values behind it. Although I concede that, people have less knowledge about these religious events, we need to educate the importance of these festivities, to avoid erasing the roots of our culture and beliefs. This essay will explain how people can be better equipped in understanding their traditions. On the one hand, there is a growing number of nuclear families where in both the father and mother are the breadwinners. They don’t spend much time with their children. Because of that, their sons or daughters never know the cultural or traditional values of their parents’ family, as they are acclimated to grow without their grandparents and in a less social neighbourhood. Their loneliness often drives them towards electronic gadgets and addiction to money. Their limited social interactions result in negligible or zero knowledge about the festivities, besides partying with their acquaintances during festival times. On the other hand, there are a number of traditional practices still being followed in the villages of South India. The knowledge and values of these traditional festivities are being passed from generations to generations, despite their families do not hold any flaunting degrees from any of the great universities. The reason is that, they stick to their major source of their survival which is agriculture. Even their latest generation men and women are aware of their festivities. For example, they do know the practices while welcoming the arrival of spring season and thanking the earth before cultivating paddy to get a greater harvest. Therefore, the reasons behind these festivities should be propagated. Otherwise, we will lose our own traditional values and become as immigrants within the native land. To capitulate, I can pen down in saying that it is no longer strange that people are not interested in their traditional practices. As the present generation can hardly lend their ears to gain knowledge from anyone, their parents should spend their valuable time in passing on the meaning of the traditions to their successive descendants. If they do, that will be an appreciable service not only to their family but also to this society.