Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional festivals as Tet holiday; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. with this opinion?

There is no doubt that traditional festivals play an important role in our spiritual lives. While many may be concerned that people nowadays have forgotten the meanings of these events, I partially agree with them and will give my explanations below. On the one hand, I would admit that there are many festivals and their related activities that have not been preserved well. These activities have not been held anymore during certain times of the year due to the comfort of the modern life and the availability of industrially made goods. For example, at Tet holiday, many families in Vietnam do not wrap Banh Chung as they did in the past; instead, they can find them easily in the markets. In addition, some customs like visiting and greeting relatives on Lunar New Years have not been practiced for many years and faced the risks of being permanently disappeared. This may be because the tendency of travelling abroad or taking vacations on holidays of the younger generations rather than just staying at their homes. On the other hand, it is the modern life that has offered people plenty of ways to celebrate such special events. Thanks to the advent of the Internet, people can keep their unforgettable memories better as well as promote the beauty of national festivals. Traditionally, families used to take pictures together and put them into a photo book which may be lost, but that is not the case any longer. Everyone now can own a library of photos in their smartphones or on social websites. What is more, when people post pictures about festivals of their countries on these sites, they may advertise these cultural events and as a result, attract more tourists to come to visit their nations. This could not only conserve special events, but also brings benefits to the countries. In conclusion, people today are not really concerned about the gradual disappearance of traditional events. I firmly believe that if these festivals could be combined with the modern lives, people may enjoy themselves better.