Most people accept that we now live in a globalised world but not everyone agrees this is beneficial. To what extent is globalisation a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answers and include relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Globalisation is a phenomenon that has affected almost all of us in one way or another. The implications of globalisation affect our day-to-day life. Like every phenomenon, globalisation too has its pros and cons. On the brighter side, globalisation has made movement of goods and services across the countries easier than ever before. It has benefitted trade and commerce and this in turn has lead to economic welfare of many. Increased prosperity and disposable income as well as direct international trade between individuals and organisations have lead to an increase in international tourism. As a result of it, knowledge and understanding of foreign cultures and languages has risen exponentially. The advancement in information technology (simply use the full form here, unless you wish to reuse the acronym later. ) has worked as a catalyst in propelling this trend even further. Globalisation has also presented itself as an opportunity to the corporate world. For instance, it has allowed multinationals to form and operate in a number of different markets and thus augment their profits. But the flip side of the coin is that albeit, globalisation has facilitated increased understanding of foreign cultures, it also has allowed dominant cultures to permeate original native cultures around the world. Influential (use synonyms and substitutions instead of reusing the same word) cultures have penetrated various local cultures worldwide in such a way that a lot of them are on the edge of becoming extinct or have mutated to a great extent. Besides, multinationals taking advantage of cheaper labour in emerging markets have contributed to a wide income gap between developed and developing nations. All the above points have lead me to the reasoning that although, globalisation has remarkably contributed in shaping the way we see our society today, it is not free from shortcomings.