Most modern families have both parents working and as a result, children spend less and less time with their parents. What is the reason for this? What problems can this cause?

An increasing number of contemporary families consist of parents who are both working, which leads to them spending very little time with their children. The prominent reasons for a rise in such a culture can be attributed to the advent of globalization and an increased cost of living. As the global economies are shrinking, a need for additional workforce has arisen. In other words, companies nowadays are hiring people for various skill-sets irrespective of gender. This has caused both, men and women, finding ample work opportunities and thus, helping them in supporting their families. However, with the high pay-scale comes the extreme pressure situations at the workplace which leads to families spending significantly less amount of time with their children. Secondly, due to various internal and external economic factors, the inflation has continuously been on an upward graph. Couple this with limitation of available resources and we will find that the lifestyle cost has been rising steadily. In such a scenario, it becomes quite essential that both the partners to work so that a decent sum can be saved when they plan retirement. However, with many households now consisting of working couples, children of such families are spending the majority of their time at schools and then at the day-care facilities. This can really cause them to alienate with their parents. Secondly, it has also been found to be a cause of depression among many young children whose parents find it hard to take time out of their hectic schedules and have a conversation with them. Thirdly, increased work pressure and deadlines has led to severe stress in many grown-ups. To conclude, while being a working parent is becoming a norm in many families and cannot be avoided in many circumstances, it is causing many children to distance themselves from their parents and vice-versa.