Most large companies nowadays operate multi-nationally.

There is a controversial issue about the role of international corporations in the development of regional societies. Some politicians say that they play a major role in the growth of areas where they operate, while some economists believe that they bring no benefit to them. In this essay, I will consider both points of view and agree with the idea of their contribution to local societies. Let us start with the reasons why some politicians state that transnational businesses take obligations for local society where they do business. The first reason is that they provide employment for locals. International companies usually employ people from regional community, so more residents both get a job for a long time with all advantages, including insurances and normal holidays. Another reason is that they participate in social programs. This type of organization, for instance, frequently devote money to various charity campaigns, such as building new schools and providing households with free housing, which improve the quality of life in regions. However, some economists argue that multinational companies take no responsibilities for the local communities. Firstly, they pay unequal salary. Multinational companies are prone to open branches in developing countries, so that they can recruit people with high competency, but with lower wage expectations. However, this often results in social unrest, as the local staff wants payment equality as in the headquarter. Secondly, they tend to avoid full taxation. They use different illegal schemes, such as bribing governors, to avoid entire taxation, which leads to a great deficiency in the budget of the host country and little development of community. In conclusion, even though some economists claim that transnational are irresponsible for regional development, I think that they improve the standards of life the local area where they work.