Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 percent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women.

Although female workers constitute the majority of the employees in developed countries, most top-level positions in corporations are occupied by males. It is argued that a good solution for this phenomenon to allocate a certain quota for females to fill some of these positions. In this essay I will explain why I do not agree with this approach. To begin with, I believe that progression in one’s career should depend on one’s skills and performance. Consequently, forcing companies to consider gender as one of the criteria for promotion is not a healthy practice. Females, However, should have similar opportunities for career progression without being discriminated against as well. With time this approach would definitely minimize the gap in a healtheir way than pre-determining a certain quota for women. For example, many studies have concluded that, companies that do not consider gender as a criterion when promoting their employees have an equal split between males and females in leading positions. Another reason for not supporting this approach, is the fact that developed countries are recently adding more genders to the gender list. Nowadays, In addition to males and females, transgenders are being considered as a separate gender. Thus, requiring companies to give females priority today might open other doors in the future. Moreover, I think that this approach has proved to be ineffective when it came to age, race, and religion, and will continue to fail in other areas. For example, years ago some countries passed bills that forced companies to promote people because of their age, race or religion, and companies’ preformances in these countries deteriorated significantly during that period. In conclusion, I believe that females are not getting fair chances when it comes to aquiring leading positions in their corporations. However, to overcome this challenge we should not determine a certain quota for women in their working places. In my opinion this would decrease the performance of these companies, as people with lower qualifications will be promoted because of their gender, and will open doors for other genders to ask for dedicated quotas in the future. I think that giving everyone their fair chance withought looking at their gender would eventually result in an increase of women working in high-level positions.