Most countries want to improve their standard of living through economic development, while others think social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, many hold the view that the growth of economy has many advantages. However, there is a body of opinion which claims that the effect of economic development is negative. In this essay, I will examine both sides of the debate and give my own opinion. To begin with, it is undeniable that the increasing economy could increase people’s income. Since the growing economy brings loads of job opportunities, citizens could grab the chance to land a job or get a better paid position, which increases citizens’ salary. In addition, economic development is beneficial to people’s living efficiency, in order that they can have more free time. As abundant money coming from economic growth could lead to the development of technology, invention could help people to save time, for example, some machines would help to do some housework. On the other hand, nonetheless, growing economy would destroy the socialization between people because the job opportunities I mentioned above could make people devote themselves in busy work, which makes them have less time to chat with their friends and relatives. Furthermore, the development of economy would impair cultural identity. Compared with the traditional way, the modern mode of economic development like building skyscrapers to make profits could not bring a sense of belonging to citizens so that they may feel unaccepted and lonely. To summarise, there is no doubt that economic development could make people richer and have a more efficient life. At the same time, nevertheless, it would also impair the relationship among people and the cultural identity. In the final analysis, therefore, one can only conclude that the disadvantages of economic development outweigh the positive effects.