More people live alone today than they did in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give your opinion and relevant examples to support your view.

Nowadays, more people are living alone than ever before. I believe that this is a positive change because it enormously reduces our dependence on others and improves our ability to handle a crisis, and both of these skills are vital for personal development. To begin with, the tendency of living without the company of anyone is beneficial because it stops us from becoming dependent on our friends and the family. That is to say, that people who live alone do not take any assistance with regards to housing, living or monetary affairs from their relatives, and this develops them into independent personalities and improves their self-reliance, an essential quality which has been witnessed among various influential people. For instance, an article published in the Forbes stated that 70% of the people, who can influence the masses, have a history of living alone. Furthermore, this evolution in men’s and women’s living creates the mastery of handling critical problems with maximum efficiency. By staying without any companion, individuals are forced to do house chores by themselves, and this equips them with various skills such as cooking and cleaning. Therefore, in case of any employment loss or any financial crisis, they can utilise such expertise to recover. For example, research conducted by the University of Oxford concluded that 80% of the young employees who live alone take up cookery work after losing their regular jobs, which prevents them from becoming bankrupt. In conclusion, this essay opines that the trend of living alone is productive progress because this makes people independent of relations, and this makes them talented enough to cope with any crisis.