More people are spending their free time viewing movies, why is this? Is it ​good or bad?

Watching films is becoming favorite past time for numerous people nowadays which is mainly due to inexpensive applications and ease of accessibility which in turns leads to social and health-related consequences. There are numerous reasons for people to watch movies in their leisure time. To begin with, sundry mobile and web applications such as Amazon Prime, Netflix, Hot-star to name but a few, provide latest movies and shows with a greater diversity of genres, irrespective of any language barrier. Moreover, the all-time availability of contents online makes people addicted to watching their favorites repeatedly. Another reason is the high-speed internet data and hassle-free connectivity that aids to watch films promptly Subsequently, several producers understand the current taste of common masses, and thereby, produces movies with interesting topics, for instance, political drama, thrillers and real life-threatening incidents, which attracts more people to watch during their recess time. Watching movies is considered to be a passive activity to spend valuable time. Because of this drift towards movies, people tend to lose their social life significantly, which reduces their interaction with family members, friends, and neighbors and as a consequence, people among local communities are no longer forming a close and supportive relationship. Another detrimental outcome of watching movies for long hours is rising obesity in youngsters making them lethargic and typically apathetic towards any potential physical endeavor. As an illustration, every 1 in 5 children in the US is obese owing to inactive actions like watching movies or series in their vacation period. To summarize, watching movies in the leisure period has an overall deleterious impact on people as it is a worthless activity. Hence, screen time should be diminished, and leisure time should be utilized for more productive purposes.