Television, newspapers, magazines, and other media pay too much attention to the personal lives of famous people such as public figures and celebrities. Use specific reasons and details to explain your opinion.

Overall, it is a widely supported opinion that the media pays far too much attention to the personal lives of famous people and I agree. From a celebrity’s perspective, this is an invasion of privacy. The public obsessing over celebrities has many negative side effects, such as invasion of privacy for the stars, failing to report on what actually made them famous and reporting unimportant and untrue facts. To begin, although celebrities have done something that has made them famous and are therefore household names, they should still be entitled to the same personal privacy that an average person has. When the media directs their attention to the everyday actions of celebrities, it can be very frustrating for that person to go along with their life in a normal way. The media photographs them in the morning, captures their daily movements and meetings, and informs the public of every aspect of their lives. They also direct their reader’s attention to things many people would not want to be public knowledge. This invasion of privacy would frustrate most people and should not be tolerated. Next, the effort to illuminate the private lives of celebrities often fails to focus on why these people are even famous. The media should direct their reporting to the music of musicians, the movies of actors and the results of athletes; since those things are what have made the person become famous. The daily life of Taylor Swift has nothing to do with the music she has made, or the value of her being apart of the musical world. The daily life of LeBron James has nothing to do with the success or failure of his team. Therefore, the media should limit their reporting to the true reasons why certain people are famous. Lastly, reporting of unimportant information about celebrities has also led to many people focusing on the superficial aspects of people’s lives. Some people are famous for very good reasons, which include having to do with their wonderful contributions to society. Instead of focusing on reasons like this, some magazines and news channels focus on what clothing celebrities are wearing, or how big their houses are. Those facts about a person have nothing to do with their influence on society. This reduces fame to simple, shallow aspects of existence, rather than valuable contributions that people make. In conclusion, the media focus on the personal lives of celebrities has become out of control. The media’s actions are an obvious invasion of privacy. They fail to focus on the actual reasons why celebrities are famous, and therefore encourages their followers to focus on insubstantial parts of life, rather than the truly amazing aspects of certain people. Focusing on celebrities’ personal lives rather than their gifts is a failure of the media.