More people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can the government make urban life better for everyone?

It is a well-known fact that cities offer many conveniences and opportunities that are not present in rural areas, nut there do not come without a cost. Higher living costs, pollution, loosely relationships between people and frantic competition are some of the reasons that make living in the city difficult. The government has a lot to do to improve urban life and make it easier. In this essay I will discuss both questions in detail. The main problem for anyone who moves to the city is the overwhelming costs in comparison with small towns. The cost of education, treatment, house rent, food, and daily essentials are far higher in the city. Another problem is pollution which makes metropolitan areas less suitable for children growing up. Cities are contaminate areas where CO2 emission, the presence of carbon and other toxic elements in the air is higher. Another drawback which makes living in cities hard, is social discrimination which is way higher in city areas than other parts of the country. There is social classification and a huge gap between poor and rich. Moreover, people living in small villages and towns have exceptional connections and they know each other well which is quite the opposite in a city. Moreover, city life is full of competition. Someone has to compete to get into a public car, wait several hours in the traffic jam and fight so hard to get a decent job. I believe there are many steps that a government can take to tackle these issues. Firstly, the government should control the prices of the daily commodities, they should as will build more high rising buildings to reduce the rents. More public buses and metros with better facilities shall be introduced to reduce the traffic jam. Developing provincial towns would let the authorities shift many industries to these regions and thus reduce the pressure on the cities. In conclusion, the government should take initiatives towards improving people’s living standards in cities and make sure rural areas and towns have plenty of job opportunities to reduce the pressure on big cities.