Libraries are a waste of money, therefore, computers should be used to replace them.

Recently, the usage of technology in the educational sector is becoming popular. It is believed by some people that libraries are a waste of resources, hence, they should be abolished and computers should be used in their place. Others, on the hand, are of the opinion that libraries should remain in existence. In this essay, I will elucidate both views and my opinion will be stated. People who opine that libraries are a wastage of money and should be replaced by computers support this idea because they think libraries are expensive ventures. The traditional library system require manpower and continuous restocking of educational materials. A lot of fund is required for this. In contrast, these individuals think the usage of computers in place of libraries, will reduce cost, since there will be less funds needed to pay staff salaries and equip the library. To illustrate this, a school in Johannesburg, South Africa switched to the use of computers as a means of their students getting educational materials, this led to reduction of expenses on books. For these reasons, certain people argue that computers should replace the traditional library system. Other people who support that libraries should remain and not be replaced by computers stand on this view because they think computers could be a distraction. Supporters of the traditional library system not being replaced by computers suggest that when people use modern technology to read or source for educational information, they could get carried away by internet activities and not achieve the reason why they set out to use them. For instance, in a school in Adelaide, Australia, with a computerized system of reading, it was found out that many of their students who plan to read with the computers, turn around to play games. To sum up, while some people think that libraries are a waste of money and should be replaced by computers because they are expensive. Others, are against the idea, because computers could be a distraction. In my view, the traditional libraries are a better form of learning, therefore, they should not be replaced by computers.