More and more qualified people are moving from poor to rich countries to fill vacancies in specialist areas like engineering, computing, and medicine. Some people believe that by encouraging the movement of such people rich countries are stealing from poor countries. Others feel that this is only part of the natural movement of workers around the world. What is your opinion?

The requirement of skilled workers is the need of the hour for every country as they play an integral role in their development in aspects such as GDP, Healthcare and science. Some people opine that movement of skilled immigrants from countries that are in initial stages of development to more developed nations is hampering their home nation while others state that it is only natural for qualified individuals such as engineers or doctors to look for better opportunities. In my view, I completely disagree with the viewpoint. In this essay, we will look at how migration can be advantages to an immigrants home nation. Firstly, Immigration of highly skilled workers creates opportunities and inspires the younger generation to work hard to become specialist in fields such as engineering, computing or medicine to provide a better future for themselves and their families. Moreover, the vacuum created by the immigration in the job market increases the value of professionals from these fields which in turn leads to a higher salary in their home nation. For instance, India produces the highest number of doctors in the world and most of them migrate to various countries. This has to lead to more and more individuals joining medicine and an increase in overall salary of doctors in the nation. Secondly, the movement of professionals internationally leads to recognition of the skills of developing nation and also provide trade opportunities. Generally, developed nations look for countries to set up their manufacturing in as it is cost-effective than their home nation. If a developing country provides highly skilled workers they are generally favoured for such deals as well. For Instance, as mentioned since doctors from India are highly regarded, most countries also trust India with manufacturing their medicines. In addition, this has to lead to India to become one of the top five manufacturers of medicine all over the world. In my personal opinion, I disagree with the statement because the movement of workers has more positives than negatives as it helps inspire the younger generation as well as increases trade opportunities. Therefore, every country should encourage the movement of qualified individuals.