Modern technology, such as personal computers and the internet, have made it possible for many people to do their work from home atleast part of the time instead of going to an office everyday. What are some advantages and disadvantages of this situation?

As newer technological ways are coming into existence day by day, latest ways of jobs are taking a lead over older ones. The use of modern inventions like computers and internet and the ease associated with their usage has opened enormous ways including doing difficult and time consuming tasks at home rather than going to office daily. This essay will highlight some pros and cons associated with this newer practice. On one hand, work done by sitting at home using own computers and the internet requires less time. As the time utilized in going office daily is saved, so one can devote himself to work only. This, in result, makes it possible to do a particular task on time accurately. Apart from saving time, the peaceful environment of home relaxes one's nerves and thus, one can perform an assigned task in an effective way. The tense and busy work atmosphere is an obstacle in revealing some people's actual qualities which can be dawned upon the world by working at home. This is particularly true for some civil engineers who formulate a specific construction design by using computers and the web for few days while staying at home and subsequently, implementing these unique designs in constructing a building on construction sites. Hence, better work output with lesser utilization of time is obtained. On the other hand, some habits that are developed by adopting a certain routine are compromised. The habits like punctuality, team work spirit, courtesy, tolerance and establishing good public relations are not developed by doing part of jobs at home. For example, the people who work on making websites for big companies and famous brands often face difficulty in seeking help or collaborating with others when they come across a problem while doing their work. Thus, they end up giving a huge loss to the companies they work for. To sum up, the advantages and disadvantages of doing jobs at home by usage of modern technology can be thought of being two sides of a coin that run parallel. However, the advantages including lesser time consumption seem to outnumber the disadvantages of diminishing team spirits and courtesy.