More and more people want to own items, such as cars, clothing and other things, that are made by famous brands. What are the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

An increasing number of individuals are wanting to own items, such as cars, clothing and other stuff, that are made by popular brands. The main reason for this phenomenon is that people wish to show off their products to get respect and this is a negative development as it leads to wastage of money. The primary reason for buying branded clothes is that people want to show their expensive items to the world. They do this to get respect in society as many of them believe that materialistic possessions are more important in life and help to gain recognition in their surroundings. For instance, a survey conducted at Delhi University revealed that individuals were more attracted to people who wore branded clothes in comparison to those who dressed in good clothes, but were non-branded. This is a negative development as this trend leads to a waste of money. That is to say that individuals spend their money on costly items, which may be unnecessary to them. Due to this, they fall short of money and cannot buy essential items such as books and household items. They have to compromise on things that are essential to branded items. For instance, an article written in The Times of India mentioned that many of the college-going students do not have enough money to purchase reference books, which would be useful for their academics as they spend money on unnecessary stuff. To conclude, more and more individuals are buying branded items as they want to show the world that they can afford to buy these to gain respect and this is a negative development as it causes wastage of money.