More and more people today are becoming overly dependent on the internet and phones. Is this a positive or negative development?

The advent of smartphones has led to the addiction of the internet. Nowadays, a majority of people spend a huge amount of time in browsing the internet. Certainly, it aids people with fast and reliable communication along with the easy life, but there will also be some drawbacks. On the one hand, those who believe the overall development of smartphones and the internet is mostly positive because of its versatility. It has made the communication process very fast and efficient. In other words, people can communicate with their friends and family through video chats, audio chats and text messages, which is way faster than the traditional letters and telegrams. For instance, in a corporate environment, most of the multinational companies have their branches in the various parts of the world, where they use emails, video conference and various instant chat mobile applications as a mode of communication to run their business. Furthermore, the accessibility of the internet on the handheld devices such as phones and tablets has made the life of human beings bit easier. Now, people can use google maps to reach their destinations while driving. Likewise, they can use special mobile apps to order a food from restaurant and to buy their stuff online. Thus, overall internet on phones is helping people to make their day to day life convenient. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks that needs to be considered before reaching at any conclusion. Firstly, people who spend crazy time watching movies and playing online games on phones have high chances to attract the health-related issues. That is to say, most youngsters spend their whole day playing games such as Mobile Pubg and Call of duty, resulting in weak eyesight and obesity, as evident in the past. Secondly, as lifestyle is changing, people are becoming lazy and tired. To exemplify, according to The Times of New York, internet is mostly impacting the habits of young generation, which means the young readers are diminishing from the society as kids prefer reading summary online, instead of reading the whole book. To conclude, despite having the drawbacks such as health issues and lifestyle changes, I believe the positives of internet on smartphones are way more beneficial. Thus, it can be considered a positive development.